La Petit Rouge – Take 2

Image

It’s baby season in my world (I have four friends due in December alone), and I’m trying to make something for each of them. I am currently unemployed (turns out it’s not a good idea to work for a government contractor when sequestration hits), so I have quite a bit of time available, but no real income. For this quilt, I used leftovers fabric from a jelly roll of Aneela Hoey’s “A Walk in the Woods” fabric that I used for a quilt last year. The pattern is super simple (I have an excel chart of everything, if anyone’s interested, I’m not sure I can call it a “pattern” per se, just a guide).

Image

The squares finish at 2″, with 4″ of white space in between. I quilted the whole thing in a grid, which looks great from afar, and slightly wonky close up.

Image

I had other plans for piecing the back, but ran out of the Moda Bella white and had to improvise. I like how it turned out in the end though.

Image

I waited to finish the quilt until the baby was born this time, and embroidered the center square with her full name and birth date (which have been partially blurred to protect the innocent).

It’s fairly simple, but sweet. Now I just need to get it in the mail and off to Seattle!

P.S. Here’s a link to my first Petit Rouge quilt.

One response to “La Petit Rouge – Take 2

  1. Pingback: La Petit Rouge – Quilt for a Baby Girl | Stitches & Dishes

Please Leave a Reply

Categories

